Literature Week – Fiction

Finally, I get to my favorite genre! It was difficult having to pick for this posting, and I certainly didn’t want to overwhelm you, my dear readers, so I picked two of my favorite books that I’ve read in the last 3 years and two that I read a while ago but that still stay with me. They are so romantic…!

‘Till next time!

1. Khaled Hosseini The Kite Runner – This was a popular book and has been made into a movie and, if you haven’t seen the movie, I highly recommend reading the book first. I didn’t see the movie because I heard it wasn’t very good and I didn’t want it ruining its image in my mind. I don’t normally read these kinds of stories (so depressing!) but I saw how popular it was and a potential guest for my show strongly recommended it, so I gave it a shot. Hosseini draws you in and I found myself unable to put down the book. I, too, strongly recommend it.

Image

2. Margaret Mitchell Gone with the Wind – A love story like no other. I’ve seen the movie and read the book…oh, to find such love (but only one that lasts).

Image

3. Richard Bach One – I read this a while ago having discovered it at the library and becoming intrigued after reading the back cover. Sometimes our best discoveries are found by accident. This book, too, is a love story. An epic one, at that. And it remains close to my heart to this day.

Image

4. Nicholas Evans The Horse Whisperer – This book, too, was made into a movie but it changed so many fantastic parts in the book that I ended up disliking it greatly. Read the book, don’t see the movie. This love story is so beautiful, so romantic, and so moving. What makes this book so deep is that the love story is not just between two people, but love in a friendship between a girl and her horse. Trust is fragile. How do you go on when it breaks? Brilliantly written and a story that also stays close to my heart to this day.

Image

Leave a Reply

