The Mirror Doll

Hello, everyone! I hope you had a great weekend. I went to the Hollywood Farmer’s Market over the weekend and while enjoying some very good food, I watched an artist set up his booth for the day. The artwork was interesting and was made up of different items that most of us would consider “junk.” One piece that stood out was kind of scary. A (naked) body of a doll (like a Barbie doll) was affixed to the front of a mirror so that she was perpetually looking at herself. I’m sure there’s someone out there who would like it but I wouldn’t want something like that in my house.

Anyway, the art was made from things that the artist either had laying around his house or from what other people threw away or wanted to throw away. And while the Mirror Doll wasn’t to my taste, he had other interesting objects to look at. But the fact that he took pieces of “junk” and created something worth looking and talking about makes this week’s quote very much appropriate.

This week’s quote, like the artist’s work, shows that you can always make something out of (what others consider to be) nothing. It reminds me that there’s inspiration anywhere you look, you just have to open up your eyes and let it soak in.

Therefore, I encourage us all to take a look around our environment this week…I bet inspiration could be found somewhere – even if it’s just in the corner of a room.  Here’s to a very creative week!

‘Till next time!

irmah-startUse

Leave a Reply

